“A” is for . . . ?

Amaryllis.  Macro image of red and white amaryllisBy now, you have probably made your new year’s resolutions for 2012, and perhaps made some progress.  Maybe you have begun to suspect a few of these are going to be harder to accomplish than first expected.

In the past I made quite an extensive list of “resolutions” every January.  However, experience has confirmed my success rate is much higher when I do not try to imitate Wonder Woman. So, this year I am taking two or three significant resolutions and reshaping them into measurable, attainable, specific goals.  Important elements of each goal include the what, why, how, when, and where.  If by the end of December 2012, those goals are fully realized or if significant progress has been made, I will celebrate.

I plan to use the alphabet this year in ways I never have before.  One way is to challenge myself to photograph something every two weeks that starts with a letter of the alphabet.  (Thankfully the letter “X” is near the end, since I currently have no xylophone in sight or any “X” ideas.)

Starting with the letter “A” (of course), my “A” subject is Amaryllis.  This flowering bulb originated in the South American tropics.  It blooms in various shades of red, pink, white, salmon and orange.  Some are striped like this one.  Tall stems and big, bold, long lasting flowers make this an easy favorite especially when looking for a macro subject.

“B” is for . . ?   I’ll let you know in my next post.

Leave a Reply

